Governing Council

The Metlakatla Governing Council is the elected government of the Metlakatla membership. The Governing Council is comprised of an elected chief and six councilors, each whom serve three year terms. In March 2007, the Metlakatla members ratified a custom election code that removed election provisions from under the jurisdiction of the Indian Act. The council functions as the governing body of the Band.

Following the August 19, 2016 election, the Metlakatla Governing Council is:

Chief Councillor Harold Leighton

Councillors Alrita Leask, Alvin Leask, Cindy Smith, Karen Jeffrey, Robert Nelson and Sharon Morven